The Republic of Malta is an archipelago of seven islands 333 km north of Libya and 80 km south of Sicily in the Mediterranean Sea. 



Valletta Coast ©viewingmalta


The capital, Valletta, is the smallest capital in the European Union as it only covers less than a square kilometre.

There are two official languages in the Republic, Maltese and English.

Catholicism is the official religion in Malta, which has a long Christian legacy. According to the Acts of the Apostles, Paul the Apostle was shipwrecked on Malta.

Its location has meant that Malta has a long history as being an important strategic naval base, and has been ruled by, by amongst others, the Phoenicians, Romans, Knights of St. John, French and the British.

This rich history is reflected in the fact that this small island nation has nine UNESCO World Heritage Sites, some of which are some of the oldest free-standing structures in the world.

Malta became a republic in 1974 after first gaining its independence from the United Kingdom in 1964. The Republic joined the European Union in 2004 and became part of the Eurozone in 2008.

The warm climate, historical monuments and fun activities has made Malta a popular tourist destination.


Copyright © 2019.   Tel: 020 7834 6661
All Rights Reserved.